Demo mode: Page not publicly visible without contracting service.

One Welfare logo

Scientific Comittee

Laura Boyle

Laura Boyle qualified as an Animal Scientist from University College Dublin (UCD) in 1994 and completed a Masters and PhD in sow behaviour and welfare under a Teagasc Walsh Scholarship with UCD. Laura is an associate member of the European College of Animal Welfare and Behavioural Medicine (sub-speciality Animal Welfare Science, Ethics and Law) and Chairs the Animal Behaviour Working Group of the European Federation of Animal Science. She is a hearing expert for the Animal Health and Welfare Farm to Fork Working Group with the European Food Safety Authority. In Ireland, Laura sits on the National Committee on Scientific Animal Protection and on the Scientific Advisory Committee on Animal Health and Welfare. Laura has worked as a farm animal welfare scientist for 20 years with Teagasc the Irish National Agriculture and Food Development Authority. She has published over 100 peer-reviewed papers on pig and dairy cow welfare and has almost 300 scientific abstracts in national and international conference proceedings. Laura’s research has elucidated links between animal health, animal welfare and antibiotic use and she has been active in disseminating the concept that animal welfare can act as ‘preventative medicine’ under the One Health concept. In recent years, she adopted the One Welfare concept to extend this message to the contribution that animal welfare can make to sustainability at numerous scientific, technical and community outreach events in Ireland and abroad. This culminated in the publication of scientific paper on the effects of Covid-19 on livestock production from a One Welfare perspective in 2020. Laura also contributed to the development of a framework for critical evaluation of private animal health and welfare standards in quality assurance programmes. In 2019 Laura was the recipient of the British Society of Animal Science (BSAS) and Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (RSPCA) award for Innovative Developments in Animal Welfare.